Celebrations

Due to an unfortunate drunkin mishap, I have lost my less than a year old camera and have no way to visually document my experience of the place I was in when the next President of the United States was officially announced.  I was in my sorority house, and people have definitely been tense the week leading up to it; being confident yet not cocky.  When it was announced that Barack Obama would be the next President, people were shouting cries of joy and relief.  However, my experience was definitely different from those who were rejoicing.  I had people jumping out at me yelling “Barack Attack!” and “Ohhhhh it looks like McCain lost.  Sucks for you!”  With them knowing that I vote Republican most of the time, people were not hesitant to rub the loss in my face.  I wasn’t so eager to watch the acceptance speech or any of the celebrations on the tv but everyone else in my house was glued to the television, countin down the minutes until Obama would take his place at the podium and make one of his speeches.  I heard stories of people in the center of Amherst celebrating til 3am in the streets.  I’m just glad I didn’t have to hear that all night.

Leave a comment