A “Normal” Thanksgiving

Everyone does something different for Thanksgiving, but the most prominent similarity of each person’s holiday is spending it with family and/or friends.  Although my family is pretty disfunctional, I would like to think that every year we have a fairly typical American Thanksgiving, and I wouldn’t change it for the world.  We usually have a fairly large Thanksgiving with my Mom, Dad, three sisters, brother-in-law, and two nieces.  However, this year my Mom didn’t invite my Dad and my sister and her husband had Thanksgiving with his parents.  So it was a small Thanksgiving with just my mom, two of my sisters, and myself.  Although it was smaller than usual, it was still just as nice to be able to sit down and have a nice dinner with my family.  It ended up being a dual holiday for me.  It was also my niece Nora’s third birthday, so after we had dinner and played a couple of board games (we are extremely competitive) we went to celebrate with Nora.  I was able to see my Dad at my sister’s house which was nice.

A lot of family’s gather around the tv watching football before dinner, and then stay in afterwards.  They digest and then eat their apple or pumpkin pies and sit around the fire together.  My family however, ate their ice cream cake; and we liked it.  As I said before, everyone does something for Thanksgiving.  Having divorced parents, and a sister with her own family, it sometimes makes it difficult to be able to spend time with my entire family on Thanksgiving, but it was done in our own way.  Check out the photos from my Thanksgiving:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/32950360@N07/sets/

One Response to “A “Normal” Thanksgiving”

Leave a comment